Basinah goes East (Middle East that is!)

So how did I get to Dubai? My husband came home with news that he had a fabulous opportunity to transfer to Dubai with his company. I was climbing the corporate ladder and was definitely not thinking of any change at that stage. I wasn’t keen on a new job, new position, new country, new anything!!! Who would have thought that Ms Ambitious would now be a Lady of Leisure…

After months of discussion, I finally agreed to move. For my husband, it was to give his family a better life. For me, it was to fulfil my husband’s dream of working abroad. So here I am: Farewell powersuits, killer heels, designer bags…Hello tracksuits, trainers, diaper bags. lol! Well actually, not all the time 😉

I now love Dubai and sometimes wonder why I didn’t get here sooner!

 xxx

Princess Yasmeen and her “tails” from the desert!

Princess Yasmeen’s story started way before she ever knew she would be a travelling Willberry riding on a camel….. Destined to be queen of her castle, she was ambitious and loved dancing…twirling around everywhere yet circumstances did not allow this princess to ever reach her full potential as a dancer. Fiscal difficulties within ones country always puts one in a position to choose. And making choices is a fact of life, People make good choices and some make bad ones, and some choices are made out of having no other choice at all. Princess Yasmeen decided to put her dancing dreams aside and educate herself in order to put food on the table…ever hear of that statement :” Dancing doesn’t put food on the table”, yeah that’s the one…so off she goes, and then life happens, you fall in love, you get married and you start paying a bond…. Nobody tells you that after the wedding comes a marriage….then life happens. And the dreams get buried and pushed aside and you also gain weight while tagging along…..

Laila and how she got to the UAE

 

It all started the day my husband proposed we pack the house , kids and life and move half way around the world to the unknown desert ! Boy was I in a catch 22…leave my beloved family and friends behind? Start a new life without knowing a single person ? How can I possibly describe the mixed emotions running through me? Ok, it’s a but like this…. I’m on the brink of a precipice and what do I see before me… Hell no! Its my mother in law who is about to drive off a cliff in my new sports car! Stay or go stay or go?! Gooooooooo!!! Hell yes 🙂 I’ll make new friends and I’ll have my hubby and kids but I’ll be far, very far way from YOU…. monster in law! So here starts my wonderful journey in this heaven of an oasis called Dubai …

..